But I have an Excuse…

Day in, day out, we search for excuses that would allow us to break rehit but still be allowed to call Sikhs. We look towards authority figures to approve our choice of not keeping our khes, eating meat, not wearing Kirpan, waking up early and etc. We forget that having someone approve of our choices do not make them the right choice. The hardest part is the right choice is rarely the easiest choice.

I was offered the easy way out and an excuse to remove some of my Khes yesterday. My doctor had called me to say my prescription had been prepared after analyzing blood tests I got done before starting my walk down the Sikhi path. The blood reports said my previous prescription had caused an imbalance in my system, which in turn caused extra hair growth on my face. This new prescription would fix the imbalance and the hair well go away. For 2 whole minutes I was excited to get rid of the unwanted hair with a valid excuse, so no one could doubt my Sikhi.

Then I doubted my own Sikhi; without thinking twice about my khes I was ready to get rid of them, that’s not right. The extra hair on my face has never caused me to be ridiculed, to be frowned upon or down anything else in general. Most of the time I didn’t even remember they were even there. For something that I don’t even remember most of the time I was too excited. So I did what we all should do when in doubt, ask another Sikh that you can trust to be honest with you.

The immediate answer I received was, “no, you can’t remove it because though I hadn’t taken amrit yet, I was on the path to do so.” I immediately played the doctor card even though I had my doubts about removing my khes too. Because I knew if I could get my friend to approve then I could put my doubts to rest. My friend didn’t argue my doctor claim because I would have just kept  saying but my doctor says. I was told to do ardass and take hukamnama. Here is the hukamnama:

This Shabad is by Bhagat Kabeer Ji in Raag Dhanaasree on Pannaa 692

Day by day, hour by hour, life runs its course, and the body withers away.
Death, like a hunter, a butcher, is on the prowl; tell me, what can we do? ||1||
That day is rapidly approaching.
Mother, father, siblings, children and spouse – tell me, who belongs to whom? ||1||Pause||
As long as the light remains in the body, the beast does not understand himself.
He acts in greed to maintain his life and status, and sees nothing with his eyes. ||2||
Says Kabeer, listen, O mortal: Renounce the doubts of your mind.
Chant only the One Naam, the Name of the Lord, O mortal, and seek the Sanctuary of the One Lord. ||3||2||

Immediately after reading the hukamnama, I knew I couldn’t follow through with removing my khes. Bhagat Kabeer Ji tells me clearly to renounce my doubts in the seventh line and that is what I do.

When in doubt do an honest from the heart ardass and take a hukamnama, Guru Granth Sahib Ji well never lead you wrong.

But I have an Excuse….

Day in, day out, we search for excuses that would allow us to break rehit but still be allowed to call Sikhs. We look towards authority figures to approve our choice of not keeping our khes, eating meat, not wearing Kirpan, waking up early and etc. We forget that having someone approve of our choices do not make them the right choice. The hardest part is the right choice is rarely the easiest choice.

I was offered the easy way out and an excuse to remove some of my Khes yesterday. My doctor had called me to say my prescription had been prepared after analyzing blood tests I got done before starting my walk down the Sikhi path. The blood reports said my previous prescription had caused an imbalance in my system, which in turn caused extra hair growth on my face. This new prescription would fix the imbalance and the hair well go away. For 2 whole minutes I was excited to get rid of the unwanted hair with a valid excuse, so no one could doubt my Sikhi.

Then I doubted my own Sikhi; without thinking twice about my khes I was ready to get rid of them, that’s not right. The extra hair on my face has never caused me to be ridiculed, to be frowned upon or down anything else in general. Most of the time I didn’t even remember they were even there. For something that I don’t even remember most of the time I was too excited. So I did what we all should do when in doubt, ask another Sikh that you can trust to be honest with you.

The immediate answer I received was, “no, you can’t remove it because though I hadn’t taken amrit yet, I was on the path to do so.” I immediately played the doctor card even though I had my doubts about removing my khes too. Because I knew if I could get my friend to approve then I could put my doubts to rest. My friend didn’t argue my doctor claim because I would have just kept  saying but my doctor says. I was told to do ardass and take hukamnama. Here is the hukamnama:

This Shabad is by Bhagat Kabeer Ji in Raag Dhanaasree on Pannaa 692

Day by day, hour by hour, life runs its course, and the body withers away.
Death, like a hunter, a butcher, is on the prowl; tell me, what can we do? ||1||
That day is rapidly approaching.
Mother, father, siblings, children and spouse – tell me, who belongs to whom? ||1||Pause||
As long as the light remains in the body, the beast does not understand himself.
He acts in greed to maintain his life and status, and sees nothing with his eyes. ||2||
Says Kabeer, listen, O mortal: Renounce the doubts of your mind.
Chant only the One Naam, the Name of the Lord, O mortal, and seek the Sanctuary of the One Lord. ||3||2||

Immediately after reading the hukamnama, I knew I couldn’t follow through with removing my khes. Bhagat Kabeer Ji tells me clearly to renounce my doubts in the seventh line and that is what I do.

When in doubt do an honest from the heart ardass and take a hukamnama, Guru Granth Sahib Ji well never lead you wrong.

This entry was posted in Rehat. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to But I have an Excuse…

  1. harsimrapreet says:

    Beautiful and brave. Thanks for sharing!
    Wahe Guru

Leave a Reply

